All Technology, News, Special Features, Uncategorized, Video Games

E3 Preview

Every June the video game industry takes center stage at the biggest media event of the year for video game development companies. And every year there are multiple surprises from these companies, and some surprises are sometimes spoiled ahead of a big announcement.

However this year it has been pretty quiet on the spoilers to this point so that kind of makes this a rare E3 preview that can be full of speculation, and I have a few guesses as to what we will see. So without any further delay, lets get to it.

New Titles

Watch_Dogs 2: Every year Ubisoft is good for a new title, or bombshell if you will. Last year it was Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six: Siege. The year before that was Tom Clancy’s The Division. This year I project it will be Watch_Dogs II, it makes perfect sense though, it has been 13 months since the launch of the first Watch_Dogs game, and while the game was good, it ultimately did not live up to the pre-release hype.

Red Dead Redemption 2: Another game that might come out this year is Red Dead Redemption 2, while Rockstar is not typically one to make a big splash at E3, it is time for a sequel to the series, and the fans have wanted it for so long.

NHL 2k16: When it comes to surprises, this could be one. Afterall 2k did release an NHL mobile game last fall and it was met with fans wanting a new console version of the game. Especially after EA released a game in NHL 15 that did not match expectations, in fact, it was well below.

Looking forward To Seeing

Keeping with the hockey theme, I am looking forward to seeing NHL 16, I am interested more so this year than in any other year because of the lack of exposure NHL 15 got last year at E3, and really leading up to the games release. NHL 16 was announced about a month ago and a lot of the released information was to do with adding in features that were lost in transition. I want to see what EA has to show at E3 for NHL 16, we know of a trailer, but hopefully it will get special coverage like Madden will get Tuesday through Thursday.

Another game I want to see more of is Forza, it has turned into an annual release for Xbox and it is usually met with good ratings, and now that I have an Xbox One I want to see what this years game is going to offer. Plus it should be a visually stunning game, it always is.

NBA 2k16, I want to see what this game has going for it. I was disappointed in NBA 2k15, 2k seemed to play it safe instead of going balls to the wall like with NBA 2k14 which was a great game, NBA 2k15 felt too much like that game.

Another game I want to see more of, and I am not sure if we will is Crackdown, it was debuted last year at E3 2014 and the trailer blew me away. I was left waiting for more this year. I am interested in seeing what they show of the game this year.

Schedule and Links to Monday’s Conferences

Warning:

1. These shows may or may not have a seven second delay. And there may or may not be profanity/violence/use of drugs during the trailers and possibly some profanity during the presentations themselves.

2. These links are dug up the day before and I do not guarantee that these links will work, and you might want to check the links before the show. I did my best to find the proper links for your viewing pleasure.

Monday June, 15th

10:00 AM PT/1:00 PM ET – Microsoft (http://www.xbox.com/en-US/e3)

1:00 PM PT/4:00 PM ET – EA (LiveToPlay.ea.com)

3:00 PM PT/6:00 PM ET – Ubisoft (https://www.ubisoft.com/en-GB/event/e3-2015/)

6:00 PM PT/9:00 PM ET – Sony (I could not find the live stream link, however there should be a way to watch on PS4 and possibly even PS3)

 

Tuesday June 16th

9:00 AM PT/Noon ET – Nintendo

10:00 AM PT/1:00 PM ET – Square Enix

 

As always I will do a recap on E3 probably either late Monday night or Tuesday.